DWI Penalties in New Jersey
Get Help from a Parsippany DWI Lawyer
If the police have stopped you and suspect that you may be driving under the influence, the next moments have the potential to turn your life upside-down. Being put through field sobriety testing and then a breathalyzer as your passengers watch and fellow motorists pass by is an embarrassing process. If law enforcement deems that they have the evidence to charge you with DWI, you will be arrested, you may be chemically tested, and you will be fingerprinted and photographed before finding yourself behind bars for between 12 to 48 hours.
As awful as this experience is, it can get much worse from here. If you are convicted of DWI the penalties can tarnish your life for many years to come. If you want to avoid the harsh penalties that a DWI conviction can bring, you need to contact an experienced and proven Parsippany DWI defense attorney as soon as you possibly can. DWI penalties in New Jersey can be especially harsh and depend upon the factors involved in your case.
First DWI Penalties
If you are a first time offender with a BAC between .08 % and .10 %, you will be facing fines of up to $400, a $230 IDRC, Intoxicated Driver Resource Program, fee, $100 to the drunk driving fund, $100 to AERF, a $1,000 per year surcharge for three years in order to access driving privileges in the future, and $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund. That is almost $4,000 in fines for a first offense, the fines increase for any additional offenses. You may also be sentenced to jail for up to 30 days. You will be required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) for up to three months (subject to indefinite driver's license forfeiture until IID is installed). If you do not pay all of these fines, you will not be able to have your license reinstated.
If you are a first offender with a BAC ranges from .10 % but less than .15 %, your initial fine may be up to $500 increasing the overall cost. A judge has discretion but you may also be facing community service or mandatory counseling in addition to IID installation for a period ranging from seven months to one year (subject to indefinite driver's license forfeiture until IID is installed).
If you are a first offender with a BAC was over .15 %, you will be facing fines of up to $500, a maximum 30-day jail term, driver's license suspension between four and six months, and have an IID installed during and after the suspension period for an additional period of nine to 15 months.
Second DWI Penalties
A second DWI offense will not only cost you more money than your first offense, you will also be spending some time in jail. The minimum sentence is 48 hours while the maximum sentence is 90 days. You may lose your license for between one year and two years and be forced to maintain an ignition interlock device in your vehicle for between two and four years following your suspension. IID installation is required both during and after suspension. There will also be 30 days of community service.
Third DWI Penalties
If there is a third DWI offense occurring within 10 years of the second offense, the fines and fees can approach $6,000. You may also spend up to 180 days in jail in addition to up to 90 days of community service. Your license may be suspended for eight years and you will need to maintain an ignition interlock device in your vehicle for two to four years following restoration of driving privileges. IID installation is required both during and after suspension.
Finding an Attorney to Help with Your DWI Case
If you are convicted, the penalties for DWI frightening enough but it gets worse. Your insurance premiums will probably increase dramatically. DWI convictions can even affect health and life insurance premiums. If you have been charged with DWI you have a lot to lose, but you also have reason to fight. You do not have to fight this battle alone. The Law Offices of Christopher G. Porreca, P.C. can stand by your side and aggressively fight to protect your rights and your future. I understand what you are going through and I am devoted to working with my clients tirelessly pursuing the results that they are looking for.
From 2006 to 2011, I was included in the list of Super Lawyers® published by Thomson Reuters as a "Rising Star" among lawyers under the age of 40 in New Jersey. I am committed to providing you with dedicated, personal service and making sure that I am always available to answer any questions and to keep you up to date on any changes in your case.
My firm will be with you every step of the way, pursuing the best possible outcome. Contact us today to learn how you can fight DWI charges and the harsh penalties in New Jersey
Why Choose My Firm?
Your Future Matters
I work personally and promptly to help reduce, acquit, or dismiss your charges.
Your Rights Matter
I handle criminal defense, family law, and personal injury cases to ensure satisfactory results.
Your Freedom Matters
I use my 20 years of experience to make sure you do not feel the heavy hand of the law.
Your Satisfaction Matters
I have earned the Avvo Client's Choice Award for the year of 2020.
My Clients Have a Story and a VoiceSee What They Are Saying About Me
“Mr. Porreca went above and beyond to help me resolve my situation.”- Megan
“Mr. Porreca will be the first person I contact if anyone I know needs legal advice or representation.”- N.M.
“Attorney Chris Porreca is friendly, knowledgeable and highly responsive. He delivered exactly what was promised and got great results.”- Linda