New Jersey Driver’s License Point System
How Points Are Assessed to Driving Records
Under state law, every single traffic violation is assigned a numerical value of points which represent the severity of the offense. The State of New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission will only allow you to accumulate 6 points within a period of 3 years before taking action against you to restrain you from committing additional violations. As a first step, the MVC will assess surcharges, which are fines ranging from the hundreds to the thousands of dollars. Once you reach 6 points, you will be assessed a surcharge of $150, in addition to $25 for each additional point you accumulate. Once you reach 12 points, the situation becomes even more serious. At this stage, the MVC will move to suspend your driving privilege.
The schedule of points which are assigned to different traffic violations includes:
- Leaving the scene of a personal injury accident – 8 points
- Tailgating – 5 points
- Reckless driving – 5 points
- Improper passing of school bus – 5 points
- Speeding 30 mph or more over the limit – 5 points
- Speeding between 15 and 29 mph over the limit – 4 points
- Speeding between 1 and 14 mph over the limit – 2 points
- Improper passing on right or off roadway – 4 points
- Improper turn at a traffic light – 3 points
- Improper U-turn – 3 points
- Failure to yield to pedestrian in crosswalk – 2 points
- Failure to observe traffic signals – 2 points
- Failure to yield at intersection – 2 points
Get a Lawyer to Help You Fight License Suspension!
Nearly anyone will get a traffic ticket at some point in life. Whether you are falsely accused of breaking the traffic laws or if you are caught speeding or changing lanes without signaling, you are not alone in being issued a citation and being ordered to pay your ticket. Not everyone, however, makes the decision to fight their ticket. This is unfortunate, since traffic tickets can always be challenged, and they can very often be beaten with the help of a Morris County traffic ticket lawyer. Contesting a traffic ticket is important if you are concerned about keeping your insurance rates down, but at least as important is the fact that if you fail to beat the ticket, you will end up with points being added to your driving record.
Depending on the nature of the citations you receive, you may very quickly accumulate the minimum number of points required for a license suspension, or it may occur gradually and without you realizing that you are approaching the point of losing your license. In either case, it is absolutely vital that you do everything you can to contest each and every ticket, to keep your driving record clear and to avoid accumulating the total of 12 points. In the event that you are convicted of a traffic violation and have points assessed to your record, there are limited actions you can take to reduce the damage. For example, you can have 2 points cleared from your record by attending a defensive driving program, though this is only available once every 5 years.
There is also the fact that your points total will be reduced by 3 once you have passed a full year from the date of your last ticket without committing any additional violations, though you cannot count on this since it is impossible to predict the future. The Law Offices of Christopher G. Porreca, P.C. can represent you in court and fight to clear your name and defend your driving record!
Contact me today to get the process started!
I work personally and promptly to help reduce, acquit, or dismiss your charges.
I handle criminal defense, family law, and personal injury cases to ensure satisfactory results.
I use my 25 years of experience to make sure you do not feel the heavy hand of the law.
I have earned the Avvo Client's Choice Award for the year of 2020.
"I can't thank him enough for his guidance and reassurance throughout this situation."
Mr. Porreca represented me in a DWI case and went above and beyond to help me resolve my situation. The process itself was ...- Megan