Se Habla Español 973.889.0900

Attorney Porreca Gets Defendant’s DWI Charges Significantly Reduced

In New Jersey, you can be charged with a DWI if you’re pulled over with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level of .08% or higher. If the defendant is a repeat offender, they may face increased financial penalties and even jail time. This is why it’s imperative that you seek legal representation immediately if you’ve been charged with a DWI.

To fully understand the immense success of our recent case, it’s important to first understand the severity of New Jersey’s DWI penalties:

  • 1st Offense:
    • 7-month license suspension
    • Up to 30 days in jail
    • $250-$400 in fines
    • $1,000 annual automobile insurance surcharge for 3 years
  • 2nd Offense:
    • Minimum 2-year license suspension
    • Up to 90 days in jail
    • $500-$1,000 in fines
    • $1,000 annual automobile insurance surcharge for 3 years
    • Installation of an ignition interlock device
    • 30 days of community service
  • 3rd Offense:
    • 10-year license suspension
    • Up to 180 days in jail
    • Minimum $1,000 in fines
    • $1,000 annual automobile insurance surcharge for 3 years
    • Installation of an ignition interlock device
    • 90 days of community service

The Case

Recently, Attorney Porreca represented a client in Montville Township Municipal Court who was facing charges for her 2nd and 3rd DWI offenses. These offenses were committed only weeks apart, and the client’s BAC levels were determined to be .26% and .27%, respectively. These levels are over 3x the legal limit in New Jersey.

During the litigation process, Attorney Porreca not only convinced the prosecutor to completely dismiss her 3rd offense, he was also able to reduce the 2nd offense down to a 1st offense for sentencing purposes. As a result, the client was able to avoid jail time and her license is only suspended for 1 year.

Seek Legal Representation

Contact The Law Offices of Christopher G. Porreca, P.C. is you require aggressive and effective representation in a DWI case. Our DWI defense lawyer in Morris County can thoroughly evaluate your case and use innovative litigation techniques to convince the court to reduce or dismiss your charges.

Contact The Law Offices of Christopher G. Porreca, P.C. at (973) 889-0900 to schedule a consultation.

Categories: