Se Habla Español 973.889.0900
Your Case Becomes My Mission And Every Mission is Possible

Parsippany Arson Lawyer

Morris County Criminal Defense Attorney for N.J.S. 2C:17-1

Arson is a serious violent crime in New Jersey that carries severe penalties. If you are charged with arson, it is imperative that you obtain the defense of an experienced Parsippany criminal lawyer to protect your rights and advocate on your behalf before the courts. There are two main types of arson charged: arson and aggravated arson.

Arson

A person is guilty of arson, which is a crime of the third degree, if they purposefully cause a fire or explosion on their property or the property of another:

  • Thereby recklessly placing others in danger of bodily injury or death; or
  • Thereby recklessly placing another's building or structure in danger of damage or destruction; or
  • With the intent of collecting insurance money for the damage or destruction to the property; or
  • With the intent of damaging or destroying a structure so that it is exempt, completely or partially, from the provisions of any local, county, or state zoning, planning or building law, ordinance, regulation, or enactment; or
  • Thereby recklessly placing a forest at risk of damage or destruction.

Aggravated Arson

Aggravated arson is a crime of the second degree, and a person is guilty of the offense if they cause a fire or explosion on their property or the property of another:

  • Thereby knowingly or purposefully placing others in danger of bodily injury or death; or
  • With the intent of destroying another person's structure or building; or
  • With the intent of collecting insurance money for the damage or destruction to the property under circumstances with recklessly places others in danger of bodily injury or death; or
  • With the intent of damaging or destroying a structure so that it is exempt, completely or partially, from the provisions of any local, county, or state zoning, planning or building law, ordinance, regulation or enactment under circumstances which recklessly places others in danger of bodily injury or death; or
  • With the intent of damaging or destroying any forest.

Penalties for Arson in New Jersey

Penalties for arson are severe, which is why it is important to have the defense of an experienced attorney. Conviction for a simple arson charge can result in incarceration in a state prison for up to 5 years, among other penalties. If you are convicted of aggravated arson, your sentence will include incarceration in a state prison for up to 10 years. It is also important to understand that under current state law, criminal records involving any type of arson can never be expunged.

If you are charged with arson in Morris County, do not wait to enlist the defense of The Law Offices of Christopher G. Porreca. I have defended countless clients against criminal charges and can ensure your rights are protected.

Contact my firm at my firm to learn about your defense options today!

Why Hire My New Jersey Defense Firm?

  • Your rights matter. I exclusively handle criminal defense cases to ensure satisfactory results.
  • Your future matters. I work personally and promptly to help reduce, acquit, or dismiss your charges.
  • Your satisfaction matters. I have earned the Avvo Client's Choice Award for the year of 2018.
  • Your freedom matters. I use 20 years of experience to make sure you do not feel the heavy hand of the law.