Parsippany Second DWI Lawyer
Second DWI Offenses in New Jersey
Law enforcement may arrest and charge a driver suspected of driving while
under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DWI). The laws in New Jersey
are strict and the consequences can be harsh, particularly if there is
a prior conviction for DWI. If you are facing second time DWI charges,
it is important to contact a
Parsippany DWI attorney for legal support and guidance. At my firm, The Law Offices of Christopher
G. Porreca, P.C., I can offer experience and dedication to your case.
I aggressively defend my clients in all criminal DWI charges.
Penalties for a 2nd DWI Charge
A DWI conviction can be expensive and affect other areas of life like employment,
ability to attend a chosen college, career advancement, reputation, and
the ability to hold or retain certain professional licenses. The penalties
for a second offense are as follows:
- Maximum $1,000 fines
- 48 hours minimum to 90-day maximum jail term
- Mandatory community service
- Loss of driver's license up to 2 years
- Auto insurance surcharge of $1,000 for 3 years
Depending on the circumstances of the DWI incident, the courts may impose
further penalties. If there was a DWI accident with major property damage,
injuries or deaths, the defendant will need the highest quality legal
help. License reinstatement requires application and a fee paid to the
Chief Administrator of the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission. To regain
driving privileges, the person may be required to install an ignition
We can help you fight the charges!
The defendant has the right to challenge the evidence brought by the prosecution
and that can include a sobriety test, breathalyzer, blood and urine tests,
arrest reports and police procedures. I can evaluate the facts of your
DWI case and offer a strong defense throughout the entire process in the
criminal court system from the time of arrest, at arraignment, and all
subsequent hearings. My firm has helped many clients achieve the best
possible case outcome, often reduced or dismissed charges.
I am ready to help you with your second DWI offense case, make an appointment
today for a consultation.
Contact a Morris County DWI defense lawyer if you were arrested for the second time for a DWI offense and need a