DWI Penalties in New Jersey
Get Help from a Parsippany DWI Lawyer
If the police have stopped you and suspect that you may be driving under
the influence, the next moments have the potential to turn your life upside-down.
Being put through field sobriety testing and then a breathalyzer as your
passengers watch and fellow motorists pass by is an embarrassing process.
If law enforcement deems that they have the evidence to charge you with
DWI, you will be arrested, you may be chemically tested, and you will
be fingerprinted and photographed before finding yourself behind bars
for between 12 to 48 hours.
As awful as this experience is, it can get much worse from here. If you
are convicted of DWI the penalties can tarnish your life for many years
to come. If you want to avoid the harsh penalties that a DWI conviction
can bring, you need to contact an experienced and proven
Parsippany DWI defense attorney as soon as you possibly can. DWI penalties in New Jersey can be especially
harsh and depend upon the factors involved in your case.
First DWI Penalties
If you are a
first time offender with a BAC between .08 % and .10 %, you will be facing fines of up to $400, a $230 IDRC, Intoxicated Driver
Resource Program, fee, $100 to the drunk driving fund, $100 to AERF, a
$1,000 per year surcharge for three years in order to access driving privileges
in the future, and $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund. That is almost
$4,000 in fines for a first offense, the fines increase for any additional
offenses. A court may suspend your license for 3 months. If you do not
pay all of these fines, you will not be able to have your license reinstated.
You may also be sentenced to jail for up to 30 days.
If you are a
first offender with a BAC is over .10 %, your initial fine may be up to $500 increasing the overall cost. A judge
has discretion but you may also be facing community service or mandatory
counseling in addition to losing your license for up to one year. If your
BAC was over .15 %, you will have to install an ignition interlock device
into your vehicle and keep it there for six months to one year after your
license is restored.
Second DWI Penalties
second DWI offense will not only cost you more money than your first offense, you will also
be spending some time in jail. The minimum sentence is 48 hours while
the maximum sentence is 90 days. You may lose your license for up to two
years and be forced to maintain an ignition interlock device in your vehicle
for up to three years following your suspension. There will also be 30
days of community service.
Third DWI Penalties
If there is a
third DWI offense occurring within 10 years of the second offense, the fines and fees can
approach $6,000. You may also spend up to 180 days in jail in addition
to up to 90 days of community service. Your license may be suspended for
10 years and you will need to maintain an ignition interlock device in
your vehicle for one to three years following restoration of driving privileges.
Finding an Attorney to Help with Your DWI Case
If you are convicted, the penalties for DWI frightening enough but it gets
worse. Your insurance premiums will probably increase dramatically. DWI
convictions can even affect health and life insurance premiums. If you
have been charged with DWI you have a lot to lose, but you also have reason
to fight. You do not have to fight this battle alone.
The Law Offices of Christopher G. Porreca, P.C. can stand by your side and aggressively fight to protect your rights and
your future. I understand what you are going through and I am devoted
to working with my clients tirelessly pursuing the results that they are
From 2006 to 2011, I was included in the list of
Super Lawyers® published by Thomson Reuters as a "Rising Star" among lawyers
under the age of 40 in New Jersey. I am committed to providing you with
dedicated, personal service and making sure that I am always available
to answer any questions and to keep you up to date on any changes in your
case. My firm will be with you every step of the way, pursuing the best
Contact us today to learn how you can fight DWI charges and the harsh penalties in