Parsippany DWI Defense Attorney
Driving While Intoxicated in New Jersey: N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 and 39:4-50.4a
New Jersey deals harshly with intoxicated drivers. Driving while intoxicated,
also known as driving under the influence, is treated very seriously and
law enforcement and prosecutors will aggressively pursue the harshest
penalties for individuals accused of DWI. It is of vital importance that
you enlist a Parsippany defense attorney to forcefully protect your rights.
My team at The Law Offices of Christopher G. Porreca, P.C. helps clients
with all types of DWI cases, including:
DWI charges and penalties are largely determined by your blood alcohol
content, or BAC, at the time of your arrest. The penalties for DWI can
affect you for years to come and may even result in a jail sentence depending
on the circumstances.
New Jersey Drunk Driving Penalties
Some of the penalties you may face include:
first offense with a BAC of between .08 % and .10 % you may be imposed fines of up to $400 along with detainment of between
12 and 48 hours. Following a conviction, you may be forced to serve up
to 30 days in jail, attend addictions counseling and lose your license
for up to three months. If you permit someone who is under the influence
to operate your vehicle, you may also be found guilty of DWI.
first offense with a BAC of more than .10 % or if you are found to be under the influence of drugs, the fines can
be up to $500 and in addition to the risk of a 30 day jail term you are
at risk of losing your license for up to one year.
second DWI offense can lead to fines of up to $1,000 along with detainment for 48 hours.
If convicted, you may be facing a 90 day jail term, community service,
and a loss of license for up to two years. In order to have your license
reinstated, you will have to apply to the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission.
The Commission will likely order that you install an ignition interlock
device as a condition of reinstatement.
third or subsequent offense, you may be fined up to $1,000 and will serve a minimum 180 day sentence
in jail or a workhouse. You will also lose your license for 10 years and
be forced to participate in a drug or alcohol inpatient rehabilitation
program. When applying for reinstatement of your license, an ignition
interlock device will be required.
The judge has discretion in many of the penalties that can result from
DWI cases. The legal punishments can be harsh but the consequences do
not end there. Your insurance rates will dramatically increase costing
you for many years to come. My firm, The Law Offices of Christopher G.
Porreca, P.C. understands what you are facing. I am very well-versed in
DWI cases and I will work with you to zealously pursue the most favorable
Contact a DUI Lawyer for Powerful Defense
Being charged with DWI is an embarrassing and stressful situation that
can damage your reputation and your future. Along with court imposed DWI
penalties, if your career involves driving, your job itself may be in
jeopardy. There are several potential DWI defense strategies including
challenging BAC test results or rights violations that could be involved
in the police stop.
I will thoroughly evaluate your case to determine if your rights were violated.
My firm will access every possible resource to assist you in seeking the
best possible outcome when you have been charged with DWI.
Contact us today to learn about the available defense options if you were charged
with drunk driving in New Jersey.