Parsippany Attorney for Aggravated Sexual Assault (N.J.S. 2C:14-3)
Felony Sexual Assault: New Jersey Laws and Penalties
New Jersey lawmakers have passed a number of statutes regarding aggravated
sexual assault, and the types of penalties that must be imposed upon a
convicted person. The criminal offense of aggravated sexual assault will
be filed in cases in which it is believed that the accused committed an
act of sexual penetration upon an alleged victim younger than 13, or in
cases in which the alleged victim is between 13 and under 16 years old.
Felony sexual assault is also charged if there are certain types of blood
relationships between the two parties, or in cases in which the person
had authority over the alleged victim in some manner (such as teacher,
coach, religious worker) or is acting as a parent or guardian for the
alleged victim. Any
sex crime charges are extremely dangerous to the accused.
Aggravated sexual assault will also be the charge filed against a person
if it is believed that a sexual assault occurred during the commission
of another crime such as robbery, burglary, arson or in cases when a weapon
is used. The definition of weapon in this case is extremely broad –
and it can be virtually any object that is alleged to have been used to
threaten the other person prior to the sexual act. Any level of physical
force that is alleged to have led to severe injury to the other person
will also result in charges of aggravated sexual assault.
Aggravated sexual assault is a first degree felony crime, with penalties
of up to 20 years in state prison and the added requirement of registering
as a sex offender for life.
The Consequences of a Conviction on Charges of Aggravated Sexual Assault
Beyond the term of imprisonment, of which 85% of the time imposed MUST
be served, and the sex offender registration that will follow you wherever
you go in the country, there are other repercussions that will impact
your life after a conviction. Under New Jersey law 2C:14-2(a) (2012),
there are special parole provisions once the sentence is completed. The
law demands that the individual, once the sentence is served, will be
under CSL (Community Supervision for Life) until 15 years have passed
with no criminal convictions or since the individual was released from
incarceration, and that the person no longer is likely to pose a threat
to others in the community.
The conditions of CSL are extremely strict and if any of the requirements
are violated, it will be a fourth degree crime, and the penalty imposed
for certain violations must be served in full before the individual can
once again go back on CSL. PSL or Parole Supervision for Life is a mandatory
component of those sentences imposed upon an offender that has been convicted
of aggravated sexual assault.
The court does not have the option to put any person convicted of aggravated
sexual assault on probation, under N.J. S.A. 2C:4302(g). The special sentence
of PSL begins immediately upon release from incarceration after serving
the term imposed by the court. The "No Early Release Act" (2002),
requires that the court imposes a minimum of 85% of the sentence before
the convicted individual becomes eligible for parole.
Hire a Parsippany Criminal Lawyer with a Reputation for Excellence
At The Law Offices of Christopher G. Porreca, P.C. I have worked hard to
provide the highest quality defense counsel to my clients over my years
in practice. I know exactly what the challenges can be in defending cases
of criminal accusations of aggravated sexual assault, and I urge you to
contact my firm immediately if you are under investigation or have been
charged with this crime.
Contact a Morris County criminal defense lawyer at my firm as soon as possible if you are facing charges of aggravated